Eliud Kipchoge wins 34th Rotterdam Marathon


Kenyan Eliud Kipchoge won the 34th ABN AMRO Rotterdam Marathon on Sunday, but failed in his bid to break the course record on a windy day in the Dutch port city.

The 29-year-old, who was the pre-race favourite, finished the race in Coolsingel in 2:05:00. ‘s compatriots and training buddies Bernard Koech (2:06:07) and Bernard Kipyego (2:07:57) finished second and third respectively.

The organizers had hoped he’d break the course record of 2:04.27 set in 2009 by the Kenyans Duncan Kibet and James Kwambai, but pacemakers dropped out regularly as wind hindered the runners.

“I’m happy to win the race,” Kipchoge said after the race. “Next time, I will come for the course record.”

Eliud Kipchoge won the 34th ABN AMRO Rotterdam Marathon on Sunday in the Dutch port city.

Eliud Kipchoge from Kenya won the 34th ABN AMRO Rotterdam Marathon on Sunday in the Dutch port city.

Khalid Choukoud made ​​a strong debut, finishing seventh with a time of 2:10:52 meeting the qualification standard for the European Championships in Zurich, and he moved up to the all-time Dutch ranking into ninth place .

After the race, an emotional Choukoud said: “I have no words for it.”

Abebech Afework from Ethiopia, second last year in Rotterdam, was the fastest woman with a recorded a time of 2:27:50.

Leading Results:

1Eliud KipchogeKenia2:05:00
2Bernard KoechKenia2:06:08
3Bernard KipyegoKenia2:07:58
4Deriba RobiEthiopië2:08:02
5Weldu NegashEritrea2:09:14
6Albert MateborKenia2:10:40
7Khalid ChoukoudNederland2:10:52
8Alemayehu AbebeEthiopië2:13:30
9Willem Van SchuerbeeckBelgië2:13:55
10James TheuriFrankrijk2:14:48
11Koen RaymaekersNederland2:15:19
12Hugo van den BroekNederland2:15:31
13Florent CaelenBelgië2:17:31
14Andrea GagamelliMondavio2:17:31
15Sean HehirIerland2:17:47
16Olfert MolenhuisNederland2:17:49
17Lander Van DroogenbroeckBelgië2:18:48
18Stijn FincioenBelgië2:19:10
19Kári Steinn KarlssonIJsland2:19:17
20Michael BrandenbourgFalmagne2:20:39
21Sebastièn SchlettererMiddelburg2:20:41
22Wesley van der GouwNederland2:20:47
23Fredrik JohanssonGöteborg2:20:53
24Miguel Beltran MendezSan Juan Del Puerto2:21:11
25Gary O’HanlonDublin2:22:52
26Mike TeekensRijswijk Zh2:23:02
27Dennis LaerteHerent2:23:11
28Félix Pont CháferGandía2:23:45
29Christoforos MerousisChios2:23:53
30Kazuyoshe TokumotoJapan2:24:39
31Vincent GraasMarseille2:24:51
32Eoin CallaghanGormanstown2:24:58
33Rens DekkersNederland2:25:05
34Roger KöninsBurg-Reuland2:25:22
35Juan de Dios Salamanca MolinaAlcázar de San Juan2:26:45
36Alexander StufferSarnthein2:27:44
37Philip Van LierdeDenderleeuw2:27:45
38Imo MullerAmsterdam2:27:47
39Abebech AfeworkEthiopië2:27:50
40Oscar Martin PerezSan Agustin Del Guad2:28:00